Back to the water for CIWA’s National Championship Series

It was back to the waters off South Sound for the opening round of the Cayman Islands Watercraft Association’s 2018 National Championship Series on 18 March.

19 riders competed across four categories, with the best among them harbouring dreams of making it to the IJSBA World Finals in Lake Havasu, Arizona later this year.

In the expert class, it was Jon Crossman of Nuttin’ 2 Lose Racing winning two of the three motos for first place among six riders at the end of the first race day. His teammate and last season’s champion, Gary ‘GJ’ Whittaker won the other motos and settled for second. Nicholas Hydes was third.

Matthew Panton, another Nuttin’ 2 Lose rider, also won two of three motos in the amateur class to take the top spot. Michael Chambers won the other moto and took second place, with the other rider in the class – Seigi Groom taking third after only one run on the water.

In the competitive novice class, Thase Watler of Turnt Up Racing won the first moto ahead of Tyler Watler (BYP Racing) and Anthony Logan (Nuttin’ 2 Lose). Logan then turned things around, winning the final two motos to take the top spot in the class. Tyler Water, who was third in his two other runs, was second overall at the end of racing. Thase Watler was third.

Female rider, Emma Conolly of BYP Racing was tops in the beginner class, winning the first two of three motos. Dylan McLaughlin of Good 2 Go Racing won the other and was second overall ahead of his teammate Jevon Eden in the three-rider field.

The date for the second round was not announced at the time of writing.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.