Cayman beat Argentina by 5 wickets

The Cayman Islands opened their Americas qualifiers for the ICC T20 2020 with a five wicket win against host Argentina on Monday, 26 February.

Argentina batted first and were dispatched for 88 all out. Opener P Arrighi scored 34 from 40 balls, including five boundaries.

Man of the Match Troy Taylor (3-14) and Kevon Bazil (3-20) each grabbed three wickets and Conroy Wright bagged a pair (2-12). Corey Cato and Alessandro Morris took a wicket apiece.

In their turn at the crease, the Cayman Islands romped home with 18 balls to spare – finishing on 91 for 5 at the end of the 16th over.

After losing opener Ainsley Hall after a solitary delivery, Darren Cato and Omar Willis provided the platform for victory. Cato scored 24 off 19 balls, including five boundaries. Willis hit three fours in his knock of 17.

Hard-hitting Troy Taylor came in at number four but failed to get going, scoring two runs from three balls.

In came the skipper, Ramon Sealy, who spanked 28 including three fours and a six before being dismissed with three runs needed. Chad Hauptsfliech (13) and Alistair Ifill (4) were both not out as Cayman finished strongly to secure the important win.

After a rest-day on Tuesday, the Cayman Islands face Bermuda on Wednesday then have a rematch with Argentina on Thursday before meeting Bermuda again on Saturday.

This is the first step toward qualification for the ICC World T20 2020. The top two teams will advance to the next round.

In all, 61 teams will compete in 12 regional qualification groups during 2018 across five regions – Africa (3 groups), Americas (2), Asia (2), East Asia Pacific (2) and Europe (3). The top 25 sides from these will then contest five regional finals in 2019 with seven progressing to the ICC World T20 2020 qualifier.

There they will meet six teams who competed in the last ICC World T20 event, but who are outside the automatic qualification spots that come from being in the top 10 of the MRF Rankings as of 31 December 2018, as well as the hosts of the qualifier. The top six teams in the global qualifier will book their place at the World T20 2020 in Australia.



  1. Pingback: Big win for Cayman’s cricketers over Bermuda – Cayman Sports Buzz

  2. Pingback: Cayman finishes second after defeat to Bermuda – Cayman Sports Buzz

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.