Cayman Prep chasing history at PFL Opening Rally

Cayman Prep (blue) go for their fourth consecutive Opening Rally title.

The 2016/2017 CUC Primary Football League (PFL) Opening Rally is set for this Saturday, October 1 beginning at 9:00 a.m. at the traditional home of local football, the T.E. McField Sports Field (Annex Field) in George Town.

Three-time defending Opening Rally champions Cayman Prep aim to continue the school’s winning ways by going for a record fourth consecutive Opening Rally title. Prep defeated Truth For Youth in last year’s thrilling final thanks to a last-gasp 2-1 win in extra time.

The Opening Rally has always been highly entertaining and very competitive with 11 schools competing this year including defending Rally champions Cayman Prep, third-placed Cayman

Prospect (purple) and George Town (blue) during last year's rally.

Prospect (purple) and George Town (blue) during last year’s rally.

International School and fourth-placed St. Ignatius Prep. Other schools competing include George Town Primary, Savannah Primary, Sir John A. Cumber Primary, Prospect Primary, NorthEast Schools, Cayman Brac, St. Ignatius Prep and Triple C.

The Opening Rally is an exciting, fast-paced one-day tournament with games being a short 10 minutes per half with no off sides. Games must end with a winner. If games are tied at the end of the 20 minutes, penalties will decide the victor.

The first round of play is the group stage with schools being divided into three groups of four schools.

Schools play each other once in their respective group with the two top schools from each group and the two best third place schools advancing to the second round – the knockout stage. From the quarter finals, the semi-finalists are decided with the resulting two winners advancing to the final and the two losers playing for third and fourth place.

The three groups of four schools include Zone A with Cayman Brac, Cayman International School, George Town and St. Ignatius Prep; Zone B with Cayman Prep, NorthEast Schools, Savannah Primary and Triple C; and Zone C with Prospect Primary, Red Bay Primary and Sir John A. Cumber Primary.

The PFL Committee encourages fans of “the powerful game” and youth sports to make their way to the T.E. McField Sports Field (Annex Field) this Saturday to cheer on the youngsters.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.