Cayman to host CFU Girls U14 Challenge Series

The Caribbean Football Union (CFU) will host the 2019 Girls’ Under 14 Challenge Series from August 5-13, 2019 across five venues in the region. A total of 22 teams will take part in the competition. 

The developmental tournament will be played in Jamaica, Cayman Islands, Puerto Rico, St. Kitts and Nevis and the Dominican Republic.

“This competition follows last year’s Women’s Challenge Series and drills down on the CFU’s commitment to grassroots football generally and the advancement of the women’s game specifically. Just under 400 girls from across the Caribbean will get the chance to pit their skills against their counterparts, and this will also foster their growth and development both on and off the football pitch,” CFU President Randolph Harris said. 

“This competition is also important for us from a developmental perspective, as it gives us the opportunity to appoint budding referees from the respective territories to officiate in the matches. This will shore up their skills and give them some of the much-needed practical experience required to advance to the next tier,” President Harris added. 

The groups are as follows:

Group 1 Jamaica

Bermuda, Cuba, Jamaica, Martinque

Group 2 Cayman Islands

Barbados, Cayman Islands, Curacao, St Lucia

Group 3 Puerto Rico

Anguilla, Bonaire, Haiti, Puerto Rico, Turks and Caicos Islands

Group 4 St. Kitts and Nevis

Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines. 

Group 5 Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.