Cayman’s golfers in contention heading into final day at Caribbean Jr champs

From L to R: Todd Purton, Aaron Jarvis (C), Lauren Needham, Holly Mclean, Justin Hastings (AC), Sam Mclean, Andrew Hastings, Thomas Dickens & Traveling Coach Andrew Jarvis. Missing from photo: Timothy Dwyer, Coach.

The Cayman Islands team at the 2019 Caribbean Amateur Junior Championships was in good shape heading into the final round of play at the Albany Golf Course in Nassau, Bahamas on 26 July.

In Boys 15 & under division, Cayman’s Justin Hastings moved into the number one position with 7-over for 151, followed by Puerto Rico’s Gustavo Rangel Badillo with 10-over for 154. Cayman’s other players in the division, Todd Purton and Andrew Hastings, have put in decent showings so far. Purton was tied 10th with 25-over for 169, while Andrew Hastings was two shots further back in 12th of the 17 players in the field. With one day to go, Cayman was secodn in the team competition, four shots back of Puerto Rico.

Aaron Jarvis sat in third in the Boys 18 & under division through two rounds with 3-over for 147. He trailed Jamaica’s Justin Burrowes (1-under for 143) and Andres Aranguren of Puerto Rico (1-over for 145). Thomas Dickens was 14th at 39 shots over par for 183. Cayman entered the final day third in the team competition in this age group.

In the Girls 15 & under division, Holly McLean was comfortably in third place with 5-over for 149, trailing Sophie Anand of the Bahamas (1-under for 143) and Emily Mayne of Jamaica (even par at 144). Lauren Needham was tied sixth of the eight-player field at 23-over for 167. They combined to be third in the team race for the team competition behind Jamaica and the Bahamas.

Sam McLean, playing in the Boys 11-13 division was sitting 10th at 44-over for 188. Bahamas’ Diego Azar was tops through two rounds at 6-over for 150.

A total of 66 juniors golfers from seven Caribbean countries have been competing this week for the James Moss-Solomon Trophy (Boys 18 & Under), Arturo Pellerano Trophy (Boys 15 & Under), Bob Slatter Trophy (Boys 11-13), Peter Hale Trophy (Girls 18 & Under), Kenneth Francis Trophy (Girls 15 & Under), John Fitzgerald Trophy (Girls 11-13).  The Hank James Trophy will be awarded to the overall winning country.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.