Concacaf Women’s U17 qualifying kicks off this evening

The Cayman Islands joins 15 other countries Wednesday (21 August) in their 2019 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship Qualifying campaign.

One of the four qualifying groups will be held at Truman Bodden Sports Complex on 21, 23 and 25 August. Group B will feature Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Martinique, and hosts – Cayman Islands. The winner of each group will advance to the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship.

The Cayman Islands team is coached by Alex Gonzales. The players are Satiah Miller, Lily Powers, Artemis Deslandes-Hydes,Chloe Bentick-Lalli, Katriona Williams, Hannah Scott, Shayana Windsor, Molly Kehoe, Riley Doyle, Ethana Villalobos, Keya Berry, Kiara Lemay, Shuwayne Fyne, Alexia Bromfield, Kayla Bradley, Ashlyn Evans, and Kalie Evans.

Group A will take place at the Estadio Olimpico Metropolitano in San Pedro Sula, Honduras and will feature hosts Honduras, plus Saint Lucia, Anguilla and Bonaire.

Barbados will welcome in Saint Kitts and Nevis, U.S. Virgin Islands and Belize to the Wildey Astro Turf Stadium in Wildey, Barbados in what should be a very exciting Group C.

Group D, featuring Curacao, Bahamas, Guyana and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines be contested at the Stadion Ergilio Hato in Willemstad, Curacao.

Group B schedule

Wednesday 21 August

5:00pm                  Antigua and Barbuda vs Martinique

7:00pm                  Dominica vs Cayman Islands

Friday 23 August

5:00pm                  Antigua and Barbuda vs Dominica

7:00pm                  Martinique vs Cayman Islands

Sunday 25 August

5:00pm                  Dominica vs Martinique

7:00pm                  Cayman Islands vs Antigua and Barbuda

Tickets costing $5 daily are available at online at or can be purchased at H&B Esso (Shedden Road and West Bay Road) and Funky Tangs on Shedden Road. Admission at the gate is $7.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.