High school track stars getting set

The 8th staging of the Private High Schools Track & Field Championships will take place at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex on Thursday 7 December 2017 starting at 8:30 a.m.

The one-day meet will feature some of the island’s top youth and junior athletes from the St. Ignatius, Triple C, Cayman Academy, Cayman Prep, Cayman International, Hope Academy, Grace Christian Academy, Montessori By the Sea and Wesleyan Christian High Schools.

For the first time in its history, athletes competing at the championships will wear the following distinguishing colours of their school: St Ignatius – navy blue, Triple C – orange, Cayman Academy – green and yellow, Hope -red, Prep – light blue, MBTS – yellow and GCA – white. CIS and Wesleyan are yet to determine their unique colours.

On the track, the athletes will compete in year groups 7 through 13 in the 100m, 200m, 800m, 1500m and relay events. The boys also compete in the 400m, and the girls will compete in the 300m events.

In the field, all year groups will compete in the long jump, and shot put events, while in the high jump, they will compete in combined 7-9 and 10-13 year categories.

Each team is allowed a maximum of two athletes per each individual event and an athlete may compete in a maximum of four individual events and a relay.

Points are awarded for the top eight finishers on a scoring of 10, 8, 6, 5,4, 3, 2 and 1 in the individual events and doubled in the relay events. If more than eight students are entered in a track event, the winners will be decided on a “timed finals” basis.

The championship has produced a number of National Youth and Junior Representatives over its past seven years.

Medals will be presented for the top three finishers in their respective events with the highest male and female point earners in each division being awarded with the group’s respective age group trophies. The most outstanding male and female athletes at the meet will earn the Victor Ludorum and Victrix Ludorum trophies.

Three trophies are up for the grabs. The Small Schools trophy competed for by all schools except for St. Ignatius and Cayman Prep, who will compete between themselves for the Big Schools trophy. Both Big Schools will tussle with all the Small Schools, competing a combined entity for the Murray Westerborg overall Champions prize.

Cayman Prep are the defending Big Schools champion, whilst Cayman Academy will defend the Smalls Schools trophy and the Combined Small Schools are the current holders of the Murray Westerborg trophy.

The public is invited to attend to cheer on the competing athletes and schools.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.