Sealy to skipper Cayman against Argentina

Ramon Sealy participates in fielding drills.

A new captain will lead the Cayman Islands national cricket team when it competes against Argentina in the ICC World Cricket League Division 5 Qualifier next month. Ramon Sealy has been selected as skipper of the side for the 20 to 27 February 50-over series against the hosts.

Confirmation of Sealy’s captaincy was announced by Cayman Cricket’s Technical Director and Chairman of Selectors Peter Anderson on Tuesday, 24 January, as he announced the 14-man squad to represent the islands. Former captain Christopher Palmer has been named as vice-captain.

Anderson had hinted at a change in a previous interview with

“I was a big push for that. As chairman of selectors, I’d like to think that we move to the future,” the coach said at a press conference to announce the team. “Ramon is looking forward to it. I feel he is growing in maturity.”

He added: “It’s never a good time to change and bring a new captain in. It’s a difficult thing but if you look in all the history of cricket or any sport, you have the captains [and] they have to grow into the job. If they have the good support staff around them, they can grow quickly.

Anderson said Sealy, who he described as a talented sportsman, was the only player seriously interested in leading the team and displayed the qualities the selection panel were looking for.

“He’s got talent. You’ve got to pick a regular player. He’s been captain of the Under-19s previously,” he said.

Sealy, a two-sport national athlete, also has captaincy experience from his role with Bodden Town Football Club.

Of the 14 players making the trip, 10 were members of the last national team to compete internationally in September 2015. Along with Sealy and Palmer, returning members are Alessandro Morris, Darren Cato, Omar Willis, Kervin Ebanks, Troy Taylor, Neil Coley, Conroy Wright and Ryan Bovell.

Also selected are in form top order batsmen, Jalon Linton and Deno McInnis; as well as Paul Chin and Kevon Bazil. The three reserve players are: Zachary McLaughlin, Kevin Bazil and Corey Cato.

Conroy Wright should be handy with bat and ball. (file photo)

The squad was selected after two trial matches and more than 40 training sessions since September. Performances in the NCB T20 Challenge Trophy in December also factored into the equation.

“With selections, some of it is gut feeling. It’s difficult but I’ve been here for six months and I’ve had a look at all the players,” Anderson said.

The Australian, who has been on the job since August, said they looked for balance when selecting the touring party.

“We’ve got so many players that I call bits and pieces – a bit of this and a bit of that. The biggest thing when you’re selecting a team is getting a balanced team. Unfortunately, you can’t take four spinners away. We tried to balance a team with five to six batsmen, an all-rounder…a wicketkeeper, and I think our strength is our pace bowling.”

Despite not knowing much of the Argentine opposition, Anderson was upbeat about Cayman’s chances in the three-match series. “If we stick to our plan and make sure we pitch the ball up and bowl in our corridor, I’m very sure our pace bowlers are going to be what really gets us through this tournament,” he said.

The full squad: Alessandro Morris, Darren Cato, Paul Chin, Omar Willis, Kevon Bazil, Kervin Ebanks, Troy Taylor, Ramon Sealy (captain), Neil Coley, Christopher Palmer (vice-captain), Conroy Wright, Deno McInnis, Jalon Linton and Ryan Bovell.

Reserves: Zachary McLaughlin, Kevin Bazil and Corey Cato.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.