Sealy wants focus and fearlessness

Cayman Islands players and coaching staff before leaving. Missing are Mark Ebanks and Wesley Robinson.

Cayman Islands national men’s football team captain Ramon Sealy says he’s happy with additions made to the squad for this Friday’s CONCACAF Nations League qualifier against the Dominican Republic and is hopeful for a positive result.

“The guys have been really committed to training. We put in some good sessions and got some organisational tactics down,” Sealy said in an interview with before the team left for the October 12th game in Santo Domingo.

Sealy, who is also first choice between the pipes, said a recent friendly against Cuba and the first qualifier against Jamaica, which they lost last month, have served as an eye-opener for some of the players who are inexperienced at the senior national level. “It was the first time that many of them got international experience. So, using those games, we just have to keep our focus and be fearless.”

The squad is bolstered by the addition of several key players including Jonah Ebanks, Matthew Suberan, Karl Solomon and Andres Ruiz, who missed out on the first game in Kingston, which Cayman lost 4-0.

Sealy wants the team to show they can compete with the Dominican Republic.

The captain said he’s glad to have them in the fold. “It’s definitely going to improve the squad. I feel like we will be able to keep the ball a little bit more and possess it like how we really want to. It’s definitely going to help us. We’re going to look to add their experience in getting a positive result,” he said.

“We’re looking to get some kind of points from this to get some momentum. I’d like a win but I’d also be happy with a draw because we know going into the Dominican Republic, it’s not easy to play away from home and they’re a good side. So, if we go in there and get a draw and then get wins in our final two games, that would put us on seven points, which would be phenomenal for us,” Sealy added.

After Friday’s game, Cayman hosts St Lucia on 17 November and Montserrat on 22 March.

Squad: Ramon Sealy (Capt/GK), Lucas Christian, Romario Dixon, Jonah Ebanks, Mark Ebanks, Joshewa Frederick, Tyler Lee, Brian Martin, Michael Martin, Charlo McLean, Christopher Reeves, Wesley Robinson, Andres Ruiz, Kyle Santamaria, Colby Seymour, Karl Solomon, Matthew Suberan, Shakur Welcome (GK), and Jermaine Wilson.

Theron Wood and Tevin Yen, who were initially named in the traveling party did not make the trip.

Kick-off is 8:00 p.m. in the Dominican Republic, 7:00 p.m. in the Cayman Islands.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.