Swimming’s finest take home awards

2017 Male Swimmer of the Year Corey Frederick-Westerborg with CIASA President Michael Lockwood. (Photo courtesy CIASA)

Lauren Hew and Corey Frederick-Westerborg picked up the honours as female and male swimmers of the year when the Cayman Islands Aquatic Sports Association (CIASA) hosted its annual awards on Sunday, 28 January 2018.

Hew, who is in Florida attending St Andrews School and getting set to start Florida State University in the Summer, was also awarded as Top CARIFTA Performer. At the championships in Bahamas last April, hew topped the podium six times, as she won eight individual medals and three in relays at the 50m pool there.

Lauren Hew

Hew also set a new CARIFTA record in the 100m backstroke (1:05:94) and CIASA and Cayman Islands records in the 200m freestyle (2:05.98). She was also the high points winner for the girls 15-17 age group.

2017 also saw her win three medals at the NatWest Island Games in Gotland, Sweden – silvers in the 200m and 50m freestyle events; and a bronze in the 200m backstroke. She also had top-50 finishes at the FINA World Championships in Hungary, where she competed in the 100m backstroke and the 200m freestyle.

Frederick-Westerborg of Stingray Swim Club also picked up the award as Most Improved Male Swimmer at CARIFTA. He won six individual medals in Bahamas in the Boys 11-12 age group : Gold – 100m butterfly, 100m freestyle, 200m freestyle; Silver – 50m butterfly, 200m individual medley; Bronze – 50m freestyle.

Avery Lambert

Camana Bay Aquatic Club’s Avery Lambert, who won seven individual and two medal relays over the Easter Weekend, was named Most Improved Female Swimmer at CARIFTA. She won individual gold in the girls 11-2 50m and 200m backstroke events; silver in the 200m and 400m freestyle, as well as the 400m individual medley; and bronze in the 50m backstroke and 200m individual medley.

John Bodden of Stingray Swim Club, who was unstoppable in sea swims featuring local swimmers in addition to a silver at the CARIFTA 5K, was named Open Water Performer of the Year.

Frankie Flowers was awarded as Masters Swimmer of the Year and also picked up a CIASA Lifetime Achievement Award. Special Olympics Swimmer of the Year was Alec Cox.


Frank Flowers, a constant presence at Open Water races, was Masters Swimmer of the Year.

The CIASA Most Improved Swimmers for 2017 were:


7 & 8                     CoCo MCGrath – CBAC

9 & 10                  Lila Higgo – CBAC

11 & 12                Tabitha Hawkins – CBAC

13 & 14                Maeve Anderson – CBAC

15 to 17               Ella Plunkett – SSC



7 & 8                     Aiden Suitor – CBAC

9 & 10                  Jack Clark-Terrell – SSC

11 & 12                Jorian Neblett – SSC

13 & 14                Nichalas Corin – CBAC

15 to 17               Alex Dakers – SSC

Laura Ribbins was presented the Service to the Community Award.

People who gave freely of their time to ensure swimming events were hosted smoothly were also recognised. The Volunteer of the Year was Joan Link, while Eva Moore was the Open Water Volunteer of the Year. Laura Ribbins was presented with the Service to the Community Award.

The awards were held at Grand Old House.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.