Cayman Cricket names squad for ICC T20 Regional Qualifiers

Alessandro Morris will captain the side. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

Cayman Cricket has selected a 14-man squad to represent the islands at the ICC Regional T20 Qualifiers in Bermuda later this month.

Missing in action for the 18-25 August tournament will be regular captain Ramon Sealy. The allrounder is out after tearing ligaments in his knee. Spin bowler Alessandro Morris, who has deputised for Sealy on regular tours takes the helm, with Troy Taylor the new vice-captain.

The full squad is: Alessandro Morris (capt), Troy Taylor (vice capt), Darren Cato, Chad Hauptfleisch, Omar Willis, Luke Harrington Myers, Paul Manning, Sacha DeAlwis, Zachary McLaughlin, Akhilesh Gavade, Alistair Ifill, Gregory Strydom, Conroy Wright, Kervin Ebanks.

Troy Taylor is the vice-captain

Cayman Cricket’s technical director, Peter Anderson, will coach the side. The team manager is Ricardo Roach.

The Cayman Islands will come up against Canada, the United States and hosts, Bermuda as they seek to take another step toward the ICC Word T20 in Australia next year. The top two teams will secure berths at the next round of qualifying in the UAE to be held in October and November.

The following is Cayman’s schedule:

18 August vs Canada

19 August vs United States

21 August vs Bermuda

22 August vs Canada

24 Augusts vs United States

25 August vs Bermuda

Cayman Sports Buzz will have a more detailed report.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.