New executive for Cayman Islands Golf Association

A new executive has taken over the administration of golf in the Cayman Islands, as long-standing president Paul Woodhouse, who served for more than half a decade, was replaced by Jonathan Joyce in early May.

Other changes to the Cayman Islands Golf Association (CIGA) Executive Committee saw Dan Fortune become the Vice President and Regan Cairns replace Emma Woodhouse as Secretary. In addition to these changes, Anthony Daniels, Taylor Wight and National Champion and trick shot specialist Payten Wight joined the Committee with Nick Gaze and Robin Jarvis retiring from duty. They join existing Committee members Tom Dillon, Scott Kapuscinski and Paul Wammer.

Jonathan Joyce

Despite courses being closed since March due to restrictions aimed at stemming the spread of coronavirus, the CIGA has been planning for a resumption of the sport whenever restrictions are lifted locally. The association held its AGM via Zoom on Sunday, 3 May, at which time the changes to the executive took place.

Incoming President Jonathan Joyce thanked those that were retiring from the Committee for their commitment and dedication during their time involved, in particular Paul and Emma Woodhouse who have overseen many successes both locally and internationally on and off the golf course.

Paul Woodhouse served as CIGA President for the past five and a half years.

The CIGA season was in full swing when the government announced restrictions that saw all sports come to a halt in March as part of national efforts to limit the spread of the potentially deadly virus. It’s not yet clear when the green light will be given for golfers to pick up their clubs and take to the course.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.