Swimming’s best honoured at awards ceremony

The Cayman Islands Amateur Swimming Association (CIASA) on Sunday, 22 January, recognised its best performers over the course of the past year at its annual awards dinner.

Lara Butler, who broke the CIASA and Cayman Islands national record in the 100-metre backstroke during her Olympic debut in Rio, was named Female Swimmer of the Year. Her brother, Geoffrey, who also swam at the Olympics for the first time, was lauded as Male Swimmer of the Year. Neither were on hand to receive their awards.

Lara and Geoffrey Butler made their Olympic debuts in Rio. (photo courtesy CIOC)

Masters Swimmer of the Year went to UK-based David Ebanks, while Special Olympian of the Year was presented to Matthew Javie. On hand to present trophies was two-time Olympian Brett Fraser, who also had words of encouragement for the young swimmers (separate story to come).

Awards were also presented to those who stood out among Cayman’s representatives at the CARIFTA Swimming Championships. Sabine Ellison, who won four gold and a silver in Martinique, was recognised as Top CARIFTA Performer.

Sabine Ellison gets here award for Top CARIFTA Performer from Olympian Brett Fraser.

Jon Bodden and Catriona MacRae were the Open Water Performers of the Year. Bodden won gold in the boys’ 15-17 open water swim at the games, while MacRae won gold in the girls 15-17 event. Bodden also took home the award for Most Improved Male Swimmer at CARIFTA. The Most Improved Female Swimmer at CARIFTA was Avery Lambert.

Lambert finished third in the race for the Girls 2016 CIASA Stars, which accumulates points from local swim meets throughout the year. Allyson Belfonte was second. Stephanie Royston took home the top prize.

Corey Frederick-Westerborg is presented with his 1st place trophy for the Boys 2016 CIASA Stars from Olympian Brett Fraser.

Corey Frederick-Westerborg was first in the Boys 2016 CIASA Stars, followed by Stefano Bonati and Finn Bishop.

Awards were also presented to the most improved swimmers in various ag throughout the past year. Girls – 7-8 Sofia Bonati; 9-10 Allyson Belfonte; 11-12 Avery Lambert; 13-14 Blanca Reid; 15-17 Kali Pereira. Boys – 7-8 Nicolas Havlin; 9-10 Sam Dakers; 11-12 Thomas Penner; 13-14 Krishna Adapa; 15-17 Rory Barrett.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.